HAYL › Ethiopia power projects and IPP pipeline
Ethiopia power projects and IPP pipeline
Independent power producer (IPP), PPP and public generation and transmission projects in Ethiopia, with the latest dated public milestone for each. Stages are never inferred: an approval or development agreement is not shown as financial close.
Generation pipeline2,985 MW6 projects · none at IPP financial close
Financing1tracked item
Procurement2tracked items
Tender1tracked item
Construction1tracked item
Development4tracked items
Project pipeline
| Project | Type | Scale | Stage | Latest milestone | Counterparties | Region |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Koysha hydropower | Hydro | 2,160 MW (also reported as 1,800 MW) | Construction | Reported nearly complete, Oct 2025 | EEP · EPC: Webuild | Omo River |
| Aysha wind IPP (AMEA Power) | Wind | 300 MW | Financing | AfDB approved up to US$110m (15 Jul 2026); 25-year PPA with EEP signed 2024; financial close not reported | AMEA Power · EEP offtaker · AfDB/IFC arrangers | Somali |
| Tulu Moye geothermal | Geothermal | 150 MW (50 + 100) | Development | Litigation halted; PPA and investment terms under revision (Sep 2026) | Private IPP | Oromia |
| Corbetti geothermal | Geothermal | 150 MW (50 + 100) | Development | Tariff renegotiation to restart drilling; new investor convertible loan up to US$27m (Jun 2026) | Private IPP | Sidama |
| Gad II solar PV | Solar | 125 MW | Procurement | PPP request for qualification, Feb 2025 | PPP DG / EEP | Somali |
| Weranso solar PV | Solar | 100 MW (MoWE also lists 150 MW) | Procurement | PPP request for qualification, Feb 2025 | PPP DG / EEP | Afar |
| Hurso–Ayisha 400 kV line | Grid | 198 km · 400 kV | Development | Joint development agreement signed 2 Feb 2026 (private transmission) | Gridworks · MoF · EEP | Somali / Afar |
| Degehabur–Kebridehar 132 kV line | Grid | 206 km · 132 kV | Development | Joint development agreement signed 2 Feb 2026; ~US$400m with Hurso–Ayisha | Gridworks · MoF · EEP | Somali |
| PRIME-1 transmission lines (4 substations) | Grid | ~90 km · 230/132 kV | Tender | International tender; bids due 10 Nov 2026 (est. US$15.3m) | EEP / World Bank | Shashemane II · Bale Robe · Bensa Daye · Durame |
| Kenya export expansion | Grid | 200 → 400 MW peak | Planned | Scale-up targeted by Dec 2026 | EEP / KPLC | Cross-border |
| Aysha II wind | Wind | 120 MW | Operating | Inaugurated 31 Jan 2026 | EEP | Somali |
| Assela wind | Wind | 100 MW | Operating | First power May 2025 | EEP · Danish-financed | Oromia |
| GERD | Hydro | 5,150 MW | Operating | Inaugurated 9 Sep 2025 | EEP | Benishangul-Gumuz |
| Hawi Gudina solar mini-grids | Solar | 4 sites · 0.9 MW | Operating | Inaugurated 17 Aug 2026; >840 households served | MoWE / EEU | West Hararghe, Oromia |
Development finance
| Programme / deal | Funder | Amount | What it covers | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ASCENT access programme | World Bank (IDA) · Denmark | US$424m | US$400m IDA credit + US$24m grant; ~6m people target | Approved Jul/Aug 2025 |
| PRIME-1 power-sector reform | World Bank | US$200–217m | Network strengthening and renewable enablement; sources differ on amount | Approved 20 Jul 2026 |
| Aysha 300 MW wind IPP | AfDB (ADB, CTF, SEFA) · IFC co-arranger | Up to US$110m | Of a US$508m project; further ~US$381m DFI debt to be mobilised | Approved 15 Jul 2026; not at financial close |
| Private transmission (2 lines) | Gridworks | ~US$400m | Hurso–Ayisha 400 kV and Degehabur–Kebridehar 132 kV | Development agreement, Feb 2026 |
| Assela wind farm | Denmark (IFU DSIF · Danske Bank) | ~€145m | Grant + commercial loan | Operating |
| Clean-cooking investment plan | Mixed (plan requirement) | US$3.38bn | 2025–2035 requirement; not committed capital | Plan |
Approval is not disbursement; planned requirements are not committed capital.
Major power plants
| Plant | Technology | MW | Status | Region | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| GERD | Hydro | 5,150 | Operating | Benishangul-Gumuz | Inaugurated 9 Sep 2025 · 13 units |
| Koysha | Hydro | 2,160 | Construction | Omo River | Reported nearly complete (Oct 2025); capacity reported as 2,160 or 1,800 MW |
| Gibe III | Hydro | 1,870 | Operating | Omo River | Largest plant before GERD |
| Tana Beles | Hydro | 460 | Operating | Amhara | Run-of-river transfer scheme |
| Gibe II | Hydro | 420 | Operating | Oromia / SW | |
| Tekeze | Hydro | 300 | Operating | Tigray / Amhara | |
| Aysha IPP (AMEA) | Wind | 300 | Financing | Somali | PPA with EEP signed 2024; AfDB approved up to US$110m, Jul 2026; financial close not reported |
| Genale Dawa III | Hydro | 254 | Operating | Oromia / Somali | |
| Adama I & II | Wind | 204 | Operating | Oromia | 51 MW + 153 MW |
| Gibe I | Hydro | 184 | Operating | Oromia | |
| Melka Wakena | Hydro | 153 | Operating | Oromia | |
| Tulu Moye | Geothermal | 150 | Development | Oromia | Restart talks; PPA terms under revision (reported Sep 2026) |
| Corbetti | Geothermal | 150 | Development | Sidama | Tariff renegotiation reported Sep 2026 |
| Fincha | Hydro | 134 | Operating | Oromia | |
| Gad II | Solar | 125 | Procurement | Somali | PPP RFQ issued Feb 2025 · BOT 20 yrs |
| Ashegoda | Wind | 120 | Operating | Tigray | |
| Aysha II | Wind | 120 | Operating | Somali | Inaugurated 31 Jan 2026 |
| Assela | Wind | 100 | Operating | Oromia | First power May 2025 · 29 turbines |
| Weranso | Solar | 100 | Procurement | Afar | PPP RFQ Feb 2025 (100 MW); MoWE brief also lists 150 MW |
| Reppie | Thermal / waste-to-energy | 50 | Operating | Addis Ababa | Waste-to-energy |
| Aluto Langano | Geothermal | 7.3 | Operating | Oromia | Pilot plant; expansion under study |
Plant locations on the dashboard map are approximate. Download CSV